For the trade fair authority in Cologne, the conference and congress business has been flourishing for nearly 100 years. Important congresses have been held alongside trade fairs ever since the Spring Trade Fair of 1925 – the first major trade fair since the trade fair authority was established in 1924. After the wartime years, first the Rheinsaal and then the Auensaal were added in the 1950s. As part of the expansion of the trade fair grounds, Congress Centre East was added in 1977. Messe Köln thus has two congress centres that can be used independently for events of any size.

Koelnmesse redeveloped its trade fair grounds in their entirety at the turn of the millennium. In addition to four new exhibition halls, Congress Centre North was built after just 16 months of construction. It replaces the former Rheinhallen along with Congress Centre West. Through the covered Trade Fair Boulevard, it is directly linked with Congress Centre East and 285,000 m² of exhibition space. All in all, the Congress Centre Koelnmesse now offers seating for 19,500 visitors in 41 individually designable rooms.

Its proximity to the city centre makes Congress Centre Koelnmesse easy to reach with all modes of transport: There are ten motorways leading directly to the grounds, and the Cologne Messe/Deutz ICE train station provides a direct link to international airports: Cologne/Bonn, Düsseldorf, Frankfurt, Amsterdam and Brussels. Congress visitors can stay at hotels of all categories, all located within walking distance.

Seit bald 100 Jahren blüht das Tagungs- und Kongressgeschäft der Kölner Messe. Bereits bei der Frühjahrsmesse 1925, der ersten großen Messe seit der Gründung 1924, finden parallel wichtige Kongresse statt. Nach den Kriegsjahren wurde in den 1950er Jahren zunächst der Rheinsaal, später der Auensaal ergänzt. Mit dem Ausbau des Messegeländes 1977 kamen das Congress-Centrum Ost hinzu. Damit verfügt die Messe Köln über zwei Congress-Centren, die voneinander unabhängig für jede Veranstaltungsgröße einsetzbar sind.

Zur Jahrtausendwende entwickelte die Koelnmesse das gesamte Messegelände neu. Neben vier neuen Messehallen entstand nach nur 16 Monaten Bauzeit das Congress-Centrum Nord. Es ersetzt die bisherigen Rheinhallen mit dem Congress-Centrum West. Über den überdachten Messeboulevard ist es direkt an das Congress-Centrum Ost und 284.000 m² Ausstellungsfläche angebunden. Insgesamt verfügt das Congress-Centrum Koelnmesse nun über 19.500 Sitzplätze in 41 individuell gestaltbaren Räumen.

Durch die Nähe zur Innenstadt ist das Congress-Centrum Koelnmesse auf allen Verkehrswegen schnell erreichbar: zehn Autobahnen führen direkt zum Gelände und mit dem ICE-Bahnhof Köln Messe/Deutz existiert eine direkte Verbindung zu den internationalen Flughäfen Köln/Bonn, Düsseldorf, Frankfurt, Amsterdam und Brüssel. Hotels in allen Kategorien finden sich für die Kongressbesucher in fußläufiger Entfernung.